Albuquerque Eats, Part 1

Earlier this month, I visited the States to see family and friends.  Before I left, Michelle asked me to document American life.  What an interesting challenge, I thought.  Before I Ieft for Korea, I had taken photos of my area for my students.  It’s difficult to understand what can be genuinely interesting to an outsider though!  Going back this time, I imagined having a conversation with my non American friends, trying to explain through my photos the quirks of the Southwest.  Any American readers, bear with me for a bit, or skip these next few posts.

What better way to start than with food! I don’t particularly miss western food now and days.  If I want spicy food, I can find it, and there’s plenty of caffeine to be found in Korea.  These are my main cravings, but there were a few things I really wanted to eat in California and New Mexico-huevos rancheros, fish tacos, blueberry pancakes, really good beer, cheap coffee, oatmeal, and breakfast burritos.  Oh yes, I had my checklist!

Sophia’s Place

DSC_0013

The first place I visited in New Mexico was so hipster, it didn’t even need a sign.  …Which made finding it incredibly frustrating.  Sophia’s Place is a local hole in the wall.  I had never been there before, but heard rave reviews.  A friend and I started our day off with breakfast here.

sophiasMap

A helpful map, so that you don’t have to suffer horribly as I did.

DSC_0001

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

Yum! All the best of New Mexico.  No matter where I am in the world, I’m a breakfast person.  We split the huevos rancheros and the blue corn pancakes.  Always a good decision.

I think blue corn is more of a Southwest thing.  It makes for a wonderful, slightly savory pancake.  It’s almost like cornbread, but with a richer flavor than normal cornmeal.

DSC_0006

DSC_0010

DSC_0011The food was wonderful and filling.  I highly recommend this place if you are in Albuquerque.

DSC_0008

Marble Brewery

DSC_0143

marbleMap

DSC_0131

After lunch and a photo walk through the neighborhood, my friend and I headed to Marble Brewery.  This place gets great reviews, and it was well deserved!

DSC_0134

Clearly these people know what they are doing.

I want to mention that we went in the afternoon on a weekend.  Even going on Saturday, it wasn’t that busy.  Drinking in the day is frowned upon in the States for the most part.  No one is going to harass you, but you might get a few looks.  As my fellow expats know, Korea is very different. No one bats an eye if you get a beer with your lunch.  Now, if you can’t stand up at noon and are throwing up all over yourself, then you might get a few looks.

DSC_0133

See how empty it is?  This is a top brewery at noon in ABQ.

DSC_0132

End of cultural lesson!

DSC_0135

The menu was pretty amazing.  I went with the Oatmeal Stout.  I’ve developed a liking for them in Korea, and this one did not disappoint.  The prices were fairly similar to what I would expect to pay in Korea for a good beer- between six and ten dollars for a good beer.  A little bit less, but not by much.

DSC_0136

They also preview the next brews to be served.  Seriously, I wish this place was in Korea.

DSC_0137

DSC_0141
DSC_0139

An Oatmeal Stout and a Wildflower Wheat.  My friend and I tried each other’s drinks, and I would have still stuck with the oatmeal stout.  I like my dark beers.  None of those IPA’s for me!

After I had finished the stout, I tried the Imperial Red.  Oh boy, that was good.  The flavor was sweet, with a hint of fruit.  I preferred it to the Oatmeal Stout, and that says a lot for me.

DSC_0138

Marble Brewery is another location to try if you are in the ABQ area.  The atmosphere and the drinks are great.  There was even a barbecue food truck parked next door if you were craving ribs with your beer.

Look forward to more restaurant reviews!  I have at least one more Albuquerque post up my sleeve, and a couple of California ones.

Leave a Reply

