US Trip: St James Tea Room

Follow my blog with bloglovin

Merry Christmas, everyone. I hope you are with family and friends at this time of year. I took some much needed vacation time to catch up on blogging.

My time in the US this August coincided with my mom’s birthday.  Since I hadn’t been able to celebrate last year, and am unlikely to in 2016, I decided to treat her. She is a big tea drinker, and there just happened to be a very nice tea room in Albuquerque-The St. James Tearoom.

DSC_0225

DSC_0237

DSC_0239

Not only does this place have a great variety of black, green, and white teas, they have all the tea paraphernalia you could ever want.

DSC_0238

DSC_0241

DSC_0240

DSC_0272

DSC_0273

DSC_0274

DSC_0275

DSC_0276

DSC_0277

DSC_0270

DSC_0271

DSC_0242

DSC_0244

Let’s not forget the Eastern tea pots. The ones in the front look especially Korean to me.

DSC_0269

The building is laid out like a town-each room has it’s own building and name.

DSC_0247

Here was our room, which we had all to ourselves.  There was a dividing curtain for when the tearoom has more customers.  Since we chose the earlier time slot, we got a great spot!

DSC_0252

DSC_0250

We started off with a lavender black tea.  This was my favorite.  All it needed was a little bit of milk.

DSC_0259

The second was much more berry flavored.  It had a variety of fruits blended in.  Still great, but more of an herbal flavor.

DSC_0261

We ended the experience with another lavender tea, this one iced.  The hostess offered us a simple sugar syrup for the tea, but it already had a nice flavor.

 

DSC_0253

Looking at this photo after three months, I still want to go back for this tea.  Everything on this tray was perfection.

DSC_0258

Savories:  Mini quiche, Open face olive tomato and butter sandwiches, cucumber and turkey on fresh buns, tiny blackberry salads, and Almond stuffed dates wrapped in bacon.  The dates were hands down my favorite.  It’s a good thing I only had one to myself.  I could eat a platter of these(and then hate myself).

DSC_0257

Plain scones and cheddar scones, with clotted cream and peach curd.  The peach curd was addictive.  My mom bought a jar of it after our tea.  I can’t imagine any food it wouldn’t pair well with.  I put it on both scones and the sandwiches.  Equally delicious.

DSC_0256

Brownies and butter cookies.  The brownies were a bit too rich after everything else.  They would be great by themselves.

DSC_0262

We finished off with homemade ice cream and peach reserves.

DSC_0264 copy

Here we both are.  My wonderful mom, who has supported me throughout my strange journey.  She has been going down her own winding path, and I’m so glad to call her mom.

Caught in the act.  Look at that concentration.

Caught in the act. Look at that concentration.

Leave a Reply

